What’s for Dinner?

“What’s for Dinner?”

If you don’t have any dinner plans, this question can evoke a sense of panic in anyone!

Well, not tonight! Not this gal! I’ve got plans…and good ones at that!

Chicken Tortilla Soup!

This recipe is an absolute fav at my house. We probably make this at least once a month and it never gets old! That’s how good it really is! Oh, and easy! I can put this together before I head off to work in the morning and it’s ready by the time I get home.

(I originally found this recipe on allrecipes.com, but adapted it to my liking.)

Here’s what you’ll need…

1 can black beans, 1 can yellow corn, 1 can whole tomatoes, 1 can enchilada sauce, 1 can(4 oz) green chilis, fresh garlic, 1 medium/large onion, 1 small bunch of cilantro, 1 pound chicken breast.

Oh and 1 can chicken broth, cumin, chili powder, bay leaves, salt and pepper(not pictured because apparently I’m crazy and forgot to put them in the pic.

The first thing I do is prepare my chicken. You will need to shred this chicken. I start by washing the chicken breasts(I used 2 large breasts from the package pictured above). After I wash and cut any fat off of the edges, I put them into a salted pot of water to boil for about 15 min.

While the chicken is cooking, I chop my onions a garlic.I usually use a whole medium/large onion. It can be a red or yellow onion, that doesn’t matter. I roughly dice the onion and a couple of garlic cloves(usually 2-3) and add them to my dutch oven with a little olive oil to sweat them for a few minutes.

You can use a crockpot for this recipe. I used a crockpot all the time before I got my dutch oven, but I like the way the dutch oven flavors the soup just a tad more than my crockpot used to.

After you sweat the onions and garlic, you’re ready to add the cans or corn, beans, chicken broth, green chilis, enchilada sauce, as well as 2 cups of water.

The whole tomatoes shouldn’t just be added as is. You want them to be sort of shredded and broken up. The way to achieve this is to microwave them on high for about 2 1/2 minutes them smash/shred them with a fork. You don’t want to totally break them up, just start them off and let the cooking process finish them off.

Next come the spices….

1 tsp cumin, 1 tsp chili powder, 1 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp black pepper, and 1 bay leaf(my bay leaves were small so I used 2). Just add those right in.

Next I roughly chop my cilantro and add it to the mix. When I adapted this recipe from the original it called for something like a tablespoon of cilantro. Well, that’s not nearly enough at my place. We loooove cilantro and the subtle minty freshness it adds to mexican-type recipes…so I add nearly the whole bunch! It’s probably about about 1/4 cup if I was to guess.

By the time I chop, open, and add everything my chicken is usually just about done cooking. I then take it out of the pot and let it rest for a few minutes before I get ready to shred it.

I used to shred the chicken by hand with a bowl and 2 forks. It worked just fine….this is until I discovered that my kitchenaid mixer can shred chicken in about 2.5 seconds flat! If you have a kitchenaid and haven’t tried this….you have to! It’s awesome(and yes I was totally geeking out the whole time I was watching it magically shred chicken unattended).

So after your chicken magically shreds itself, just throw that in too!

Then all you have to do is waaaaalk awwaaaay!

 That’s my absolute favorite part about this recipe.If I am at home all day I leave it on the stove to simmer all day. If I’m going to work I get it really hot on the stove and then stick it in the oven on 200-250 degrees for the entire time I’m at work.

When I walk in from work 9 hours later my house smells divine and dinner is ready! TADA!

We always eat this with a little mexican style cheese and an ungodly amount of sour cream and scoop it with tortilla chips. So yummy!

Thursdays are my day off, so this is cooking away on my stove right now. It’s perfect because it gives me time to catch up on laundry, watch some of my DVRd shows and make a Sams run. Oh and one more thing I’ll be catching up on….

Coupon clipping. I have a date with this massive bin this afternoon.

Does anyone else ever do this? I bought a basket to help me organize my coupons and bills, but it apparently did the exact opposite….it helped me stockpile them and procrastinate to the point where we are now in danger of a coupon avalanche! UGH!

At least we’ll have some yummy dinner tonight!

Does anyone else have a yummy chicken tortilla soup recipe? or any favs that you make at least once a month? Or do you stockpile coupons because you can’t bare to throw them away like I do? Share!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. hahaha, coupon avalanche! I always have one of those. And I’m definitely coming to your house for dinner 🙂

    Reply
  2. wish I had the patience to cook…i usually just result in a bowl of cold cereal. Pathetic I know!

    run-style-run.blogspot.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi! I'm Bretta. This is my blog. Join me in this crazy journey we call life!

  • bloglovin
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Wanna know what these two have been up to? Check out the "Millie & Otto" page

