Gotta Love Burt and His Bees

On my quest to transition my beauty routine to all natural/organic products I started researching the most natural lines that are readily available in places like Ulta and Target. There are a lot of products out there that have labels that contain words like “natural” or “nature ____ (fill in the blank)”, but obviously that doesn’t necessarily mean that they are indeed made from natural ingredients(yeah I know, duh. But you’d be surprise how easily people fall for that stuff).

I already told you before how I recently switched my make-up to Physician’s Formula’s Organic Wear line. It is the absolute best you can buy(as far as organic products go) over-the-counter. There obviously are a lot of other natural products online that you can order, but I found them to be waaaaay more expensive than what I was looking for. But now I had another problem….since the temperatures have been dropping I have had some mild dry skin. Now, before “the switch” I heavily relied on this stuff

Don’t get me wrong, Clinique is great and I loved it for many years. Actually, when I was first starting to wear make-up in highschool my mom took me on a special trip to Clinique inside Macy’s and bought me an entire line of these skincare products.

It’s always a bit overwhelming when you are in the Health/Beauty aisle. With a million little labels staring back at you, sometimes it feel like a million little eyes looking at you! Ekkkk!

So on my quest to find the most natural/readily-available moisturizer I looked at a lot of lines like Neutrogena, Clean & Clear, Almay, and Aveeno. A lot of the lines had products with words like “natural”, “organic”, or “hypoallergenic” on their labels, but none of them were really even made from mostly natural ingredients or had even some ingredients that were truly organic.

Then I found Burt’s Bees. I have used their chapsticks and lip balms for a while now but I had never tried their skincare products. The first moisturizer I tried was Burt’s Bees Radiance Day Lotion with SPF 15 (buy here)

It is 98.2% natural. I know, not 100%, but after researching this product further I found that this is the best you can get in as far as the drugstore brands are concerned. Plus the roughly 1.8% non-natural ingredients are commonly known, somewhat “harmless” ingredients.

Below is a little “pros and cons” list that I made after using this product for about a month now.

 

PROS

CONS

1. 98.2% natural.

-Better than most all other drugstore brands.

1. Slight Residue

-Even though it is a “day lotion”, I only use it at night because it doesn’t work well underneath my make-up.

2. Lightweight

3. Pleasant fragrance.

4. Price

-At $18 it is comparable to most other good quality moisturizers.


                     The only bad thing I found about this moisturizer was the residue, but I have had that problem with just about every other brand I’ve ever tried. I think this is because I have combination skin and after I put on the moisturizer it doesn’t have enough time to absorb 100% before I apply make-up on top of it. This is also why I chose the “day” formula instead of the night. I probably couldn’t handle the extra moisture in addition to the oil in my natural soap.

All in all I LOVE this moisturizer.

The only thing I missed about my old brand was the thick, creamy texture. Honestly, I think I was addicted to that slathered feeling(you know, that feeling you get after you put on boocoos of creams and potions on your face just before you crawl into bed). Haha! The Burt’s Bees is more like a light coating that goes on thin and dries fairly quickly. Don’t let it fool you though, it moisturizes like the best of ’em!

Another great product in the Burt’s Bees skincare line that I’ve tried recently is the Herbal Blemish Stick (buy here).

My mom tucked this in my stocking this past Christmas and I’ve loved it ever since! I use this just after my soap and just before putting on my moisturizer. It is 100% natural(woohoo!) and dries quickly. This product is designed to treat small areas where you need a little extra help clearing up a blemish. It works like a charm! The first time I was amazed at how quickly it worked. I actually kicked myself that I didn’t take “before and after” pictures, that’s how amazing it was!

The only complaint I have about this product is the strong smell. It smells very medicinal. I was applying this the other day and literally from the other room Nic shouted, “What smells like bug spray?!?” Haha! To be honest, it really doesn’t bother me that much, but I just have to make sure I put it on when I’m by myself. :0)

So if you’re in the market for a new skincare product, you should definitely check out Burt’s Bees. And if you try a product from their line that I haven’t tried yet, let me know how it is!

Has you added a new product to your beauty routine lately? Have an old favorite that you swear by? Do tell…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Emily Freeman

     /  February 18, 2012

    I swear by honey and coconut oil! I know honey sounds SO messy but it truly is not like what you’d think! I just keep a little jar on my vanity and dab about a nickle sized dollop in my palm and mix a few drops of water in it to make it easier to spread. Then just rub in on your face. I top it off with some coconut oil.

    I’ve been using honey as a facial cleanser/moisturiser for almost a year now and rarely use other soaps on my face. Honey works best on a clean face (ie, when you wake up in the morning IF you took your makeup off the night before!) and I love to put it on right before I get in the shower. I leave it on until I’m about to step out of the shower and rinse it off. The longer you leave it on, the better! I started using it last winter when my face was looking really chapped/red in some areas. It takes the red out and soothes the chapped areas with TONS of moisture. Sometimes if I have dry skin elsewhere, I put a bit in my bath and soak in it. A BIG plus to honey is that it has antibacterial properties- so it helps prevent blemishes (which are caused by bacteria trapped under your skin). It is an overall A+. Pick some up at the farmer’s market and help your community AND your body!

    Coconut oil is great, as well. Wonderful for all over your skin; I also use it on my face before I go to bed as a night moisturiser. I find that it is a bit too oily to use on my skin during the daytime. But I put it on my daughter several times a day when her skin is very dry and it doesn’t look too oily on her- she just soaks it all up! The oil is a solid in the jar at room temperature but it melts at 75 degrees, so I sometimes put the jar in some hot water in the sink to melt it, or sometimes blowdry it, or whatever. I has a light coconut smell and it feels light. It doesn’t clog my pores and my skin looks and feels great in the morning when I wake up. If I find an extra-dry spot during the day I may dab a bit on. I have only been using this for about six weeks and don’t anticipate needing to use it in the summer, but for the winter it works great!

    Good luck! I love using both these products because I KNOW they are natural, have no extra ingredients, colors, fragrance, etc. (They are also inexpensive!)

    Reply
    • That’s so great! I will definitely have to look into that! Also, the coconut oil may be a great new ingredient to use when we make our own soap next! I love knowing exactly what’s in something and the only way to REALLY know that is to make it yourself! Great tips! Thanks!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi! I'm Bretta. This is my blog. Join me in this crazy journey we call life!

  • bloglovin
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Wanna know what these two have been up to? Check out the "Millie & Otto" page

