The Hunt

“We’re going on a bear hunt, we’re going on a bear hunt….”

Ok not really, but I am on the hunt for some nightstands! Honestly, I have never had matching nightstands that I liked. I have either only had room for one, or had mis-matched ones. I am the first one to admit that I usually shut my bedroom door when I have visitors because all my decor energy and funds going towards common areas, not my master bedroom.

Well that alllll changed when I decided to DIY an upholstered headboard this past summer.

Before I had an antique wooden headboard but it was never was attached to the bed and was always a pain. After finishing this headboard it changed the whole look of the bedroom! The only problem was, after installing the headboard it made my nightstands look soooo puny. I wasn’t planning on keeping the nightstands I had in there anyways, but now I really have to do something about these tiny things.

The ones that are in there now are from Target at about $12 each. When I bought them I knew I wanted more substantial ones eventually.

Usually my favorite stores for home goods are TJ Maxx, Marshalls, and Ikea, but when I saw nightstands there that I liked they were a liiiiiitle too expensive for my thrifty taste!

The gray one below was $49.99 for one. Seriously, that would be $100 for the pair and they aren’t even solid wood!

This one was $79.00 for one. It was solid wood, but it wasn’t exxxxactly what I wanted and after only spending $35 total for my headboard I just can’t justify $160 for a pair of nightstands.

So I decided new just wasn’t the route I wanted to go. So this weekend I will be hitting up every thrift store I can think of looking for old, out-dated, ugly(but solid wood) nightstands that I can re-do. I’m thinking something like this…..

via

These old, forgotten pieces could be painted a fun color and they would look completely different. You could even remove those dated hooks before painting them.

Here’s where I hope to end up after a little elbow grease….

(all above pics via pinterest)

So much better, right?? It’s so amazing what a little paint will do!

Let’s hope I find what I’m looking for…

Anyone else re-doing furniture this weekend? Or on a search for yucky looking furniture at thrift stores? Do tell…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Oh my goodness. That’s what I’m on the hunt for now too!! We need nightstands, badly. These are some AWESOME options!!!

    Reply
  2. Mom

     /  February 10, 2012

    I’ve been looking around for you. Nothing at Goodwill yesterday but they get new stuff all the time. I’ll keep my eye out for you.

    Reply
  3. Marcy

     /  February 10, 2012

    I might be doing some thrifting tomorrow with Molly, I’ll keep my eyes peeled!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hi! I'm Bretta. This is my blog. Join me in this crazy journey we call life!

  • bloglovin
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Wanna know what these two have been up to? Check out the "Millie & Otto" page

