Dress It Up

I have had the same dresser for probably 10 years. I have always loved it deep drawers and general lines. What I do NOT love about it is the water damage caused by a frisky cat and an accidental roof leak during an ice storm.

Whew…now that I think about it, this dresser and I have been through a lot together. Even though I love this gal, she’s been looking a little weathered and tired lately. I have been planning to give her a makeover for a good little while now, but after reading Sherry’s self-imposed “Dude Get On That Already” challenge I finally mustered up the courage to complete this long put-off project of my own.

So here’s her modest before shot pre-makeover.

See, I told you she was looking a little rough. I’m almost embarrassed that I left her in that state for so long.

So, Saturday morning I woke up and immediately started working on this project. My first step was to empty out all of the drawers and clean every crevice with a water/all purpose cleaner solution. After everything was dry I removed all of the hardware and set it aside.

And yes, that IS my trusty paint can opening screwdriver. It’s just the perfect size and shape for the job, what can I say? I’m obviously not a very neat painter, that’s for sure.

After removing the hardware and wiping everything down I started step one….sanding. Oh my, this was NOT my idea of a rockin’ good time on a Saturday morning. Oh no. I basically just roughed up the drawer fronts and sides of the dresser with 80 grit(coarse) followed by a 120 grit(fine) sandpaper in order to make sure I had a smooth surface to apply my primer to.

After the easy part, I tackled the top of the dresser. This was the tedious part because it is where the water damage took the biggest toll. I started with the rough 80 grit sandpaper on an electric sander. I sanded and wiped about 1000 times. The finish was coming completely off and revealing the bare wood in some areas while other areas looked untouched. Admittedly, this was the most frustrating part. The most important part about the primer I used(more on this in a minute) is that the surface must be smooth. That is why I spent so much time making sure I sanded the top smooth. It didn’t matter that there was a bit of the finish left, it just needed to be smooth. Whew, I get tired just thinking about doing that again.

Here’s where my hero comes in……Bullseye 1-2-3 Water-Based Primer & Sealer. This stuff is AWESOME!! I have used this for a couple of jobs already, including painting surfaces like laminate! It works like a charm and I haven’t had a single issue.

The unique thing about this primer is that it attaches to any solid, smooth surface without sanding. Even though I did sand, I’m sure this would have done just as good of a job without the sanding. Just call me and overachiever, or OCD. Whatever works.

The most important thing to remember about priming is to apply thin, even coats and allow adequate drying time in between coats. Primer ALWAYS looks ugly….it just does. It’s not your final coat and you shouldn’t freak out when it looks streaky and spotty. Its job is to fill in all the imperfections and allow the top coat to go on smoothly.

Here are my drawer fronts…the right one is after 1 coat and the left one is after 2 coats.

If you look closely you can see the subtle texture that the primer leaves. It is gross and slightly freaked me out when using this product for the first time. Don’t worry, it doesn’t make your top coat rough.

After applying 2 coats of primer, we ran a few errands and allowed the primer the dry completely before moving on to painting the final color.

Oh, and we dressed up the dog while waiting around. He’s too cute. 

Anyways, back to the project. When I was thinking about what color to paint my little lady I just kept gravitating towards slate/blue. I made the trip to Lowe’s and literally decided on the color before I ever made it all the way up to the Valspar display(I almost always use Valspar, it just a personal preference. I just like it because its a little thicker and and allows the paint to stay where you put it.). The color I chose was “Cafe Blue” by Valspar(its the far left, or lightest one on the card below)It stuck out out of all the other colors to me. It is, in my opinion, the perfect combination between gray, blue, green, and slate. So that was an easy trip. I picked up a quart of satin paint and a couple of foam rollers and I was on my way.

I started by making sure my primer was completely dried and then I began applying my paint. It took two coats to get complete coverage. Not to bad considering I started out with a stained and finished piece.

So here she is after putting her hardware back on!!

I absolutely LOVE the new color. It looks a little grayer in this pic more than it does in person. The color reads more “blue” when the sun hits it. I also love how the mirror looks with it. I actually rescued that mirror from the trash and painted it. It definitely added a bit of drama that side of the room needed.

So after a busy Saturday finishing this project, why haven’t I found to motivation to put all my clothes back in the dresser? Grrr I hate when that happens.

So here’s the breakdown:

$14  1 quart of paint

$4  foam rollers

$0  painting supplies (already had)

$12  Bullseye 1-2-3 primer

$0  dresser (already had)

________________________

TOTAL: $30

Not too bad for a completely new and improved look! I’m convinced it really changes the look of the bedroom. I’m so glad I finally finished this long awaited project!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Ah! That looks great!!!

    Reply
  2. I love how this turned out! Come fix my house!

    Reply
  1. Need More Corbel! « Home Sweet Nest

Leave a Reply

  • Hi! I'm Bretta. This is my blog. Join me in this crazy journey we call life!

  • bloglovin
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Wanna know what these two have been up to? Check out the "Millie & Otto" page

